Meet the Relocation Team

Gemma Teale

Lives in Western Australia

Hi, I’m Gemma and I live in Perth, Western Australia with my husband and 3 children. 

Felicity is 18 and my sons Hayden, 12 and Mason 7. 

We originally emigrated to Adelaide in June 2019, and lived there 2 and a bit years, but then decided to move to Perth in October 2021.  

Read More

My Husband is a Carpenter/Joiner but is currently working as a Glazier for a company in Joondalup. The boys are in local High and Primary schools. They are really happy in their chosen schools, and we feel we made the right choice for both, having the specialist programs they can get involved in, such as soccer and marine studies! 

Moving states has been a big adjustment, but we all feel really settled here in WA, and love all there is to offer, amazing beaches, beautiful scenery, lots to do with the kids, there is always something to do here! 

Any questions regarding a move over to WA just let me know, I’m happy to help! 

Leigh Chadwick

Lives in Western Australia

After attending one of the DUC’s seminars, Leigh and her husband used the DUC for both the skills assessment and visa service to gain a PR visa.  

They have now emigrated to Perth WA. Leigh loves to help others and, as a DUC Relocation Consultant, will introduce you to DUC Partners on the Employment Hub to get you the best rates, as well as share her extensive knowledge from their own personal experiences of the migration process. 

Brodie Roberts

Lives in Western Australia

Hey how you going,

 

I’m Brodie and in 2020 my husband Jack and I decided to make the move down under with our 3 boys Clae (4), Colt (2) and Coen (11 months.) After a long 2 years of waiting we finally made the move in March 2022 with our Labrador Jet following shortly after.

Read More

We’re an adventurous family of 5 who moved from South Wales to Secret Harbour, around 40 minutes south of Perth city centre. We’re always here, there and everywhere making the most of the sunshine and creating incredible memories we won’t forget as we restart our life here in WA.

 

My husband Jack was the main visa applicant and we came over on his job which was a Mechanical Fitter. He originally got a job in the Naval Base in Henderson whilst we were still in the UK finalising selling our house. Our vias got granted as it was a specialist industry and skill set. After arriving and working in Henderson for around one month, another opportunity arrived for him as a Supervisor in Welshpool which he is now loving.

 

We have settled into our everyday life in Secret Harbour pretty well, our boys are loving the outdoor lifestyle, my eldest will attend pre-primary in January, once he turns 5, in our local school. Our 2nd will be starting pre-kindy once he turns 3. There is so much for the kids to do here we are constantly at a park, beach or out for coffee with friends and making the most of what WA has to offer

Lisa Chambers

Lives in South Australia

G’Day! My name is Lisa, and I moved to Adelaide from the UK in 2019. Myself, my husband and our two boys have a great life here.  

Read More

We love being outdoors and especially love the beach, which is where you will find us at any given opportunity. Paddle boarding, fishing, swimming, snorkelling, kayaking – we do it all! Picnics, BBQs, and dinners on the beach with friends watching the sun go down with a few beers are our thing.  

We navigated the housing market and managed to buy our first home here this year. It is a few minutes from the coast with a pool and fits in with the reason we moved here. Our kids are settled in school, and our eldest started high school this year, so we have had a big year of change. 

I look forward to helping you with your relocation. I can help you with all manner of things from figuring out where to live, finding a school and job, budgeting, form filling, and most things in-between. 

I love living in Adelaide, and feel I have vast experience coupled with being a previous migrant myself to help you. 

Lisa  

Dave Wilson

Lives in South Australia

G’day from South Australia! 

I’m Dave, an Electrician, my wife is Vicki, a Secondary School Teacher and our boys are Tobias (7) and Reuben (4).  

“The Dream” for me started 15 years ago, after watching Wanted

Read More

Down Under on BBC1 for the first time. The weather, work-life balance and outdoor living was so appealing to me. I met Vicki on a night out in Middlesbrough, ironically in a bar called “The Walk-about”. On our first date, some 14 years ago, I shared my dream to emigrate Down Under with her. She thought I was a bit of a dreamer but liked the idea of it. 2 years later in 2010, we went on a month-long holiday to Oz and LOVED IT! Fast forward to September the 15th 2019 (I still remember the date!) we went to the DUC in London for one of their seminars. I quizzed poor Wes for an hour in his office about our eligibility and enjoyed the rest of that day. We spent the 5 hour drive back up North discussing the day. I called the DUC and signed up while Vicki was still thinking about it.  I’d spent 4 weeks gathering information for my Skills Assessment when Vicki said she’d made up her mind and wanted to give it a go! Good job hey! Almost a year to the day from when we started the whole process, we were granted our 190 visa. Jenny called at 06:30am with the news! We couldn’t believe it! We sold our house on the day the first lockdown hit the UK, the 23rd of March 2020. After 5 cancelled flights and 2 weeks of quarantine in Perth due to COVID-19, we arrived in beautiful Adelaide! 

Vicki absolutely loves her job in a Private all-girl school teaching French and English. She has found teaching totally different, for the better! Not to mention the pay increase. 

Being an Electrician or “Tradie” as the Aussies call it, has had its challenges as it’s a Licenced trade here. Thanks to the DUC, the proses was streamlined and I managed to get my A Class Licence after 6 months of us arriving. I now work FIFO (Fly In Fly Out) in the mining industry. The great pay makes the time away from home manageable and my time off is best spent at the beach with my family or on my Mountain Bike. 

Anyway, enough about me! I’m looking forward to speaking to you and hope to answer all of your questions and queries. The DUC has lots of exciting things in the pipeline to help ease the stress of the move and I’m so happy to be part of it. I love helping others based on my own personal experience, I know what it is like being in your shoes!  

Catch ya’, 

Dave  

Wes Zandt

Lives in Victoria

Gday Guys,

Im Wes Zandt and moved back to Melbourne after 16 years away, I was lucky enough to travel the whole of Australia for just under 4 years. In this time I worked as a plumber and spent most of my time surfing, fishing and exploring our amazing country. I’m very proud to say in my years travelling OZ I didn’t live in a town that had a traffic light!!

After Australia I ended up in France for 6 months before the language barrier took its toll and decided to move to sunny London. While in London I decided to set up the Down Under Centre and create the

Read more

first walk in centre for people looking to migrate to Australia. We built an amazing culture for migrants and I surrounded myself with a professional, brilliant, fun and caring team of experts.

While in London I met my wife (Tara)  and we had 2 little legend Sons, Jett and Jax. When Jett hit primary School age we moved back to Melbourne and currently live on the Mornington Peninsula. My British wife Tara wanted to live near the beach so chose what we believe are the best beaches in Victoria to base ourselves. Born an Aussie but spending most of my adult life in the UK, moving back was totally new and I was amazed how much Australia had changed in some ways and in other ways had stayed the same. Since returning to Australia, our family is growing with a baby girl on the way (Jan 2023). Watching our boys out and about in the Australian sun, living the life we wanted to create was hard at the start but worth it now we are settled.

I am one of the plumbing skills assessment assessors, work with employers, chat to our amazing clients on how to move and offer advice on how to relocate while still working with our UK and Australian team.

Michelle Brindle

Lives in New South Wales

Married to Edd and mother to Parker (10) and Douglas (8) whilst working as a banking professional. I was born and bred in South London until following a bad week and a bottle of wine and never having stepped foot in Australia we found ourselves signed up to the DUC in 2019.   

Rather than waiting around for the Visa to be granted we quit our jobs and sold our house and spent our life savings to travel the world for 6 months before arriving in our new home in Sydney in Dec 2019, where we got a grand 8 weeks before covid hit. After having walked all our local 5k we decided to move

Read More

down to Wollongong in the Illawarra where we are currently enjoying beach life!   

I am now here to help other people who maybe as spontaneous as us or more prepared and planned to make the move. With guidance around the madness that is the plumber’s journey, navigating the move with kids, informal advice around banking or simply NSW fun facts! 

Jessica McKean

Lives in Victoria

Hey There! 

My Name is Jess and myself, husband and our 4 children (10,6,4,4) have recently moved to Chelsea Heights, Victoria, with my husbands’ job. We have been wanting to move over here for some time to give our children the outdoor life we crave, and boy have we done that! We have signed them up to Netball, Auskick, Joeys to name a few and come the summer months we will be doing more of the water activities. 

Read More

2 weeks after our visa grant, we were on that flight, we had sorted a rental, emptied our home in the UK and came with just our clothes in an amazon version of the sports direct bags and even though it was a crazy few weeks we have settled in just as quick 

Our area has so much to offer, and we spend most weekends with the kids going to new parks having a BBQ and beaches and venturing into Melbourne where entertainment is endless. 

I hope that if you move to Melbourne area, I can help you in anyway I can from airport meeting, to bringing round a cup of coffee or a glass of wine. Please, ask me any questions and I am happy to help. 

Andy Botha

Lives in New South Wales

Hello! My name is Andy. I moved to Sydney from the cold north of England in Jan 2018. I took the leap by myself and haven’t looked back. I am a fully qualified sparky and competed my GAP training to become Australian qualified in 2019. 

I met my partner in July 2018 and while she was studying here. She is currently waiting for the De-facto partner visa to be approved. We know the pain as she has been waiting since May

Read More

2020, luckily, she is able to work on her bridging visa. 

We love to get out and about to see places around NSW. We are big foodies and love to try new places to eat, although the day trips and eating out took a hit with covid. We also got a covid puppy (mini Dachshund) so love to take her to new places or for a run around in the local parks. 

We have been renting for the last 4 years but have recently purchased an off the plan apartment which will hopefully be built and ready to move in my Christmas 2023. 

I look forward to speaking to people moving to NSW and hope to be able to offer you some tips and recommendations. I am happy to help with house hunting, finding a job, form filling and any other things that you may need to help you with a smooth transition into the Australian lifestyle. 

Tanya Fell

Lives in Queensland

Hello and a warm welcome from me Tanya.  

I’m a wife, mummy to one and emigrated pom who left the Uk in 2019 for the beautiful state of Queensland, where we now call home.  

A little bit about me and my family, I’m an allied health assistant who works alongside the physio’s and occupational therapists in the Queensland Children’s Hospital, my husband Craig is a very happy, full time working electrician aka sparkie.

Read More

With our careers thriving with great rewards since touching down.  

Our little man Mr Harry is in a local school, smashing educational goals and honestly enjoying every moment, of all the outdoor experiences and sports QLD has to offer him.  

I’m here to help, offer support and advice for you and your family the best I can. This is an absolutely massive life change but the best decision I’m sure you will make. We came here not knowing a sole, so me and my family are here for you, as a port of call where we can share our experiences or even be a friendly face to start you on your way, in living your best new life here in the sunshine state.